The Cinque Ports

By F.W. Brooks, published May 1929


The briefest definition of the Cinque Ports is that they were a group of south-eastern seaports which, in return for providing ships, had certain very distinct privileges. This federation comprised the Cinque Ports proper, Hastings, Dover, Hythe, Romney and Sandwich, and the two “ancient towns” of Winchelsea and Rye, added to the original five in the beginning of the thirteenth century. The economic poverty of the Cinque Ports may be an excuse for their inveterate piracies, though in the Middle Ages none was needed. Piracy was then endemic.

Join Today To Read The Full Article

Filed under: Late Middle Ages | English Channel | High Middle Ages | Other (Early Modern)
Subjects include: Administration | Battles & Tactics | Harbours & Dockyards | Merchant Marines | Navies | Pirates, Corsairs & Privateers | Ship Handling & Seamanship | Strategy & Diplomacy | Whaling & Fishing

Join Today To Read The Full Article

Join Now

If you are already a member please login here.