Maritime Heritage Trust Heritage Harbour

November 2021

The development of Heritage Harbours is a joint initiative by the Maritime Heritage Trust (MHT) and National Historic Ships (NHS) Shipshape Network; with strong support from the European Maritime Heritage (EMH). It proposes that historic Ports and harbours in England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland become officially recognized as ‘Heritage Harbours’. These developing Heritage Harbours identify the great value in sensitively developing their, often superb, historic buildings; waste land; mooring; and maintenance facilities for both local and visiting historic vessels and are identified within the NHS Shipshape Network regions. Medway, Faversham and Oare, and Maldon and Heybridge have been established as the first three Heritage Harbours, and the following have been identified as potential Heritage Harbours: London River, Brentford, Sandwich, Cowes, Buckler’s Hard, Falmouth, Cley-Next-the-Sea (with Blakeney and Wells-Next-the–Sea), Brightlingsea, Woodbridge, Chester, Stourport, Warwick Bar (Birmingham), Cardiff Bay, Leith and Belfast. Please contact Brian Corbett, the MHT Trustee and EMH Representative at if you would like to know more about the Heritage Harbour initiative or go to Maritime Heritage news page.


Topmasts Newsletters


Topmasts Archive