Michael Sissons History Prize

May 2019

Peters Fraser & Dunlop have announced the Michael Sissons History Prize of £2,000, aimed at academics looking to write their first popular history book who are not yet represented by an agent. The prize will be awarded for the best trade book proposal and may focus on any period of history. The prize aims to promote accessible and ambitious projects of cultural, political, social or military significance – books that invite the reader to look at the world differently, in the vein of Simon Schama’s Citizens and Wade Davis’s Into The Silence: The Great War, Mallory and the Conquest of Everest.

The proposal should be 4-8,000 words in length and contain the following:

  • A 1-5 page overview
  • A chapter breakdown
  • 1 sample chapter

To be eligible for the prize, the author and proposal must meet the following criteria:

  • not yet represented by a literary agent
  • hold a PhD
  • be associated in some form with a UK academic institution
  • be an original and scholarly piece of academic research in the English language
  • not have previously been submitted to UK or US publishers

Authors should send a copy of their proposal by email to MSHistoryPrize@pfd.co.uk. The prize will be judged by Peters, Fraser & Dunlop. The deadline for receipt of all submissions is 30th September 2019 and the winner will be announced on 2nd December 2019.

Category: |

Topmasts Newsletters

Topmasts

Topmasts Archive